Ouray County Courthouse

541 Fourth Street

1888 & 1976


The Courthouse today remains very much as it was upon completion, both inside and out. It was built of locally manufactured brick with cut stone trim by Frank Carney. It embodies an unusual blend of architectural styles, primarily Queen Anne and Romanesque. The first floor houses the county clerk's and treasurer's offices just as it did when it opened. The long wide central hall is used to exhibit many historic photographs taken throughout the county. The second floor district courtroom is 40' by 56' with an 18' ceiling. Its natural light comes through large arched windows. This room contains many of its original furnishings. Jury rooms and other offices associated with the court are on this floor. In 1976, the courthouse was enlarged by constructing an extension on the southeast side. The building attached to the back of the courthouse was originally the county jail. Today it is office space for the County Sheriff's Department. The courtroom scenes in the movie, True Grit, were filmed here.

Back......Return to Home Page..Forward

Or jump to the building you want to see.